I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2006 (SECOND) Regular Session

Executive Committee Resolution No. 156

Introduced by:

Ray Tenorio

L. F. Kasperbauer

Edward J.B. Calvo

F. B. Aguon, Jr.

J. M.S. Brown

B. J.F. Cruz

Mike Cruz

Mark Forbes

R. Klitzkie

J. A. Lujan

A. B. Palacios, Sr.

R. J. Respicio

A. R. Unpingco

J. T. Won Pat

Relative to recognizing the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the occasion of its Eighty-second (82nd) Anniversary, to congratulate and recognize its Member Anniversary Celebrants, and to commend its members for their many valuable contributions to the people of Guam.

- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I
- 2 MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
- 3 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce was established in 1924
- 4 with the goal of uniting individuals to improve business and build a better
- 5 community; and
- 6 WHEREAS, on April 26, 1924, prominent businessmen like Pedro

- 1 Martinez, Chester Carl Butler, H.U. Umstad, Baltazar J. Bordallo, William G.
- 2 Johnston, J. M. Gillespie and A. H. White, chartered the Guam Chamber of
- 3 Commerce, contributed many items and economic resources to the
- 4 organization; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has provided business
- 6 people with a venue to cooperate, make our community a better place in
- 7 which to live and work, and to promote the orderly growth of the business
- 8 community for more than eight (8) decades; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has helped numerous
- 10 small businesses open their doors, and prosper and grow, thus fostering the
- 11 growth of our local economy and serving our people; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce consists of more than
- 13 three hundred twenty (320) members and continues to grow every year; and
- 14 WHEREAS, twenty-six (26) member companies of the Guam Chamber
- of Commerce have celebrated their Twenty-fifth (25th) to Fifty-fifth (55th)
- 16 Anniversaries; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce instituted the first Guam
- 18 Business Hall of Fame to honor those Guam business people who have
- 19 demonstrated a strong vision and ability to improve the economic growth of
- 20 our island; and
- 21 WHEREAS, among the first inductees to the Guam Business Hall of
- 22 Fame were the founding members of the Guam Chamber of Commerce: Pedro
- 23 Pangelinan Martinez, Kenneth T. Jones, Jr., Jesus Sablan Leon Guerrero,
- 24 Governor Joseph Flores, and Eduardo Torres Calvo; and

WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce formed the Armed 1 2 Forces Committee in 1998 to promote Guam as a rest and relaxation destination for the armed forces and to increase local business opportunities 3 by contracting with the military; and 4 WHEREAS, the Guam Chamber of Commerce has maintained its 5 support of community projects for several years, including the Guam Juvenile 6 Drug Court Program, the Summer Youth Swimming and Water Safety 7 Program, the Annual Christmas Program, the Dave J. Santos Scholarship, 8 beautification projects, and a Guam Police Department Partnership; and 9 WHEREAS, this year's anniversary of the Guam Chamber of Commerce 10 11 also marks the Fifty-fifth (55th) Anniversary of Perez Bros., Inc.; the Forty-fifth (45th) Anniversary of Bank of Hawaii; the Fortieth (40th) Anniversary of 12 Xerox Corporation; the Thirty-fifth (35th) Anniversary of 3M Company, 13 14 Deloitte & Touché, LLP, DFS Guam, Guam Capital Investment Corporation (GCIC), McDonald's Restaurant of Guam, Moylan's Insurance Underwriters, 15 Inc.; the Thirtieth (30th) Anniversary of Blair Sterling Johnson Moody 16 Martinez & Leon Guerrero, P.C., Denson Guam, Personal Finance Center and 17 Travel Pacificana; the Twenty-fifth (25th) Anniversary of National Office 18 Supply, Northwest Airlines; the Twentieth (20th) Anniversary of Alupang 19 Beach Club, David DDB, Denight Marketing Group, Gerald Woo + Co., JMI 20 21 Electrical & Air Conditioning, Marianas Credit Bureau, NBK Trading 22 Corporation, Pacific Unlimited, Inc., PMT Guam Corporation, Quality 23 Distributors, and Sanford Technology Group, LLC; now, therefore, be it 24 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina' Bente Ocho Na

1 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the

2 people of Guam, congratulate the Guam Chamber of Commerce on the

3 occasion of its Eighty-second (82nd) Anniversary and does hereby commend

4 the hard work, commitment and accomplishments of its members, who are

5 the driving force behind its achievements and for their invaluable

contributions to the people of Guam; and be it further

6

9

10

7 RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive

8 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption

hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to the President

of the Guam Chamber of Commerce, Eloise R. Baza; to the Executive

11 Committee of the 2006 Guam Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors,

12 Chairman Michael T. Benito; to the Vice Chairman, Stephen C. Ruder; to the

13 Secretary and Treasurer, Jerold W. Filush; to the Special Executive Committee

14 member, Brian Artero; to the immediate Past Chairman, Monty A. McDowell;

and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE OCHO NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 28TH DAY OF APRIL 2006.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

EDWARD J.B. CALVO

Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature